Geschichte 02 Geschichte 03 Geschichte 04 Geschichte 05 Geschichte 06 Geschichte 07 Geschichte 08 Geschichte 01

After various attempts to stabilise white supremacy rule in Namibia, on November 11, 1989, the first free elections for the constitutional assembly are held.

A pioneer for Namibia's independence is the new South African State president and later Nobel Peace Laureate Frederik Willem de Klerk, who also paves the way to end the Apartheid rule in his own country.

SWAPO wins the elections gaining 57% of the votes. In 1990, the constitution comes into effect. Sam Nujoma, the SWAPO leader of many years, is elected univocally as the first President and inaugurated by UN-General Secretary Pérez de Cuéllar on March 21, 1990. Namibia becomes the 151st member of the United Nations and also joins the Commonwealth of Nations.


In 1993, Namibia receives its own currency. The Namibian Dollar (N$, NAD) is, however, linked to the South African Rand, because the two economies are closely related. Namibia stays a member of the customs union of the southern African countries.

South Africa cedes Walvis Bay, Namibia's only economically relevant seaport, in 1994 to Namibia. So the last step on the road to Independence of Namibia has been taken.